Kvitova: ‘Tennis without pressure is boring’

Kvitova: ‘Tennis without pressure is boring’

Petra Kvitova will use the expectation of being defending champion to help her when she begins her Wimbledon campaign.

The Czech beat current world No.1 Maria Sharapova at the All England club last year to claim her first grand slam title, and will start this year’s tournament on Centre Court against Uzbekistan’s 97th-ranked Akgul Amanmuradova.

“It’s very big pressure for sure,” the 22-year-old told CNN when asked about returning to the prestigious grass-court grand slam.

“But without pressure it’s boring. So I will try to work on my game so that when I step onto Centre Court I’m focused.”

Djokovic, Sharapova head Wimbledon seedings

The left-handed Kvitova is excited to return to Wimbledon, although she will be heading to the London venue earlier than planned after crashing out of the warm-up event at Eastbourne in the first round.

“It’s a very special place to me. I will be honored to return to Wimbledon as the defending champion,” added Kvitova, who was knocked out of the Australia Open and French Open by Sharapova at the semifinal stages.

“I would have liked to have played more matches, but I have more days for practice,” said the Czech. “I can improve my game and I can go there earlier than I expected. I’m looking forward to being at Wimbledon.”

The world No. 4 explained how her 6-3 6-4 victory over Sharapova was a dream come true and that Wimbledon has a distinct aura which is not present at other tournaments.

“You cannot be serious!” Tennis’ top tantrums

The GoodFellaz.Inc

Leave a Reply

